Dog Days of Summer at Bolsa Chica Wetlands

DSC_0077

I just love dog days!

We woke up to bright sunshine this morning, instead of the usual June gloom. When I heard we were heading out to the wetlands for our morning walk, I didn’t argue.

DSC_0070

There were so many new scents from the multitude of critters that pass through this reserve. I was able to sneak in a roll-around on a dead bird when mom’s back was turned. Unfortunately, she wasn’t too happy about how I smelled and made me take a bath when I got home. 😦

DSC_0066

There were so many birds hanging out next to the water’s edge, and I really wanted to chase them. I was told I was a good boy for not running into the muddy water and becoming a wet mess.

DSC_0147

The wetlands have a unique beauty. My human has a strange fascination with the oil pumps, and likes to photograph them. She told me that when she was growing up, there were a lot more of them, and they just kind of became a part of every day life in Huntington Beach. I think they are scary monsters.

DSC_0113DSC_0080

I almost chased a lizard into these, but stopped when I remembered the time I chased a rabbit into a whole patch of cactus. Ouch.

DSC_0149

We walked around for a while, enjoying the cool breeze and sunshine, until our bellies began to grumble.

DSC_0086

When I hear “time to eat” I never argue with that.

Thanks for joining me on my journey through the wetlands. I wish you all a fun-lovin’ Friday!

~ Woofs and wags, Kona

13 thoughts on “Dog Days of Summer at Bolsa Chica Wetlands

  1. What a fun adventure, K. I think the highlight of the day had to be the dead bird, even if it did end in a B-A-T-H. Ending with time-to-eat is the perfect ending to a perfect day.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

