Christmas Day, So Cal Style

img_1260

This post is a little late. On Christmas Day, we decided to take the boat out for a harbor cruise in San Diego. Though it was chilly in the morning, the day turned out to be beautiful and sunny.

dsc_0493

Not a bad life for these marine critters, eh?

I wish I had a video of these “locals” sunning their bods like one big happy family. There are quite a few sea lions, which attracts sharks and Orcas. I was hoping to get some pictures of a pod of Orcas, but no luck. Maybe next time.

dsc_0495

Pulling away from the harbor, ocean and sky.

dsc_0589

Got fish, Mister?

Mister Sea Lion watching curiously as Kona barked his head off at him.

dsc_0562

Jonathan Livingston?

I was trying out my new Tamron 70-200mm lens on moving objects. I’m very pleased at how sharp my bird-in-flight pictures turned out. Seagulls and pelicans are about as wild as our wildlife gets around here.

dsc_0532

Kona was with us, though I failed to get any good pictures of him. When we were pulling up to the boat slip, he decided to jump into the water. I panicked and was fully prepared to jump in after him, but luckily was able to grab onto his collar and pull him up onto the swim step. I wish I could have snapped a picture of him all wet, but was too focused on getting my silly pup dried off and keeping him safe.

dsc_0564

This guy hung on the entire trip!

dsc_0574

Sparkling like diamonds

dsc_0570

Liquid blue and gold

I could gaze at the shimmering water all day long.

dsc_0536

Abundance

Thanks for coming along on my ocean voyage. Happy Friday, and cheers to the weekend!

Woofs and wags,

~ Lori and Kona

 

7 thoughts on “Christmas Day, So Cal Style

  1. What a great way to spend Christmas day! The diamond affect on our local lake at sunset is one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen and can sit and watch until the sun is too low and I need to pull into dock. It sure doesn’t sound like a good place to take a swim if the marine life is attracting sharks. And don’t orcas kill sharks?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. hello kona its dennis the vizsla dog oh hay that luks like yoo guys had a nice krooze!!! dada has ben owt on that harbor in a sail bote but uhhh aparently the moshun of the oshun is not to his liking eeven wen the oshun is a harbor!!! ennyway i hav herd that the harbor is ful of those see lion things and that they smel wunderful!!! wel dada sed terribul but i am shoor he ment wunderful!!! but do not jump into the water to snif them!!! ok bye

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

