What Kind of Dog is She?

kona

What am I? I’m just a dog who loves his humans. Woof!

I get asked this question frequently when mom takes me out. More often than not, folks assume I am a girl, because I’m so pretty.

When my mom found me on adopt-a-pet, I was categorized as an Australian Shepherd and Border Collie mix. Mom’s says her previous dog was this same mix, only black, white and tan. She says that I have the same body shape and “feathers” as my Border Collie cousins, though I have yet to show any interest in herding – just chasing squirrels and cats. Hehe.

border-collie-6

Border Collie

I guess I also have the Aussie / Border Collie pigeon-toed gait that mom’s former dog had (which, she says, is adorable).

Australian Shepherd

Australian Shepherd

I’ve had two people at dog beach insist that I am most definitely an English Shepherd, which is a breed my human had never heard of until they mentioned it. So mom looked it up, and we both agree that the similarity is striking. The dog in this photo has the same “blocky” head as me. Is she insinuating that I’m a blockhead? Hmfff.

English Shepherd

English Shepherd

One day a dog trainer approached me and asked mom if I was a Duck Tolling Retriever. We thought he was kidding, but he explained that this is an actual breed of dog that instinctively frolics back and forth along the shores of lakes to attract curious ducks, drawing them out of the water so the duck hunter can shoot.

Interestingly enough, I LOVE the water and do frolic playfully along the shore. Mum looked this breed up, and we do indeed look similar.

Nova Scotia Duck Tolling Retriever

Nova Scotia Duck Tolling Retriever

A neighbor of mine who used to own a Siberian Husky, is convinced that I am part Siberian Husky. She explained that of all the huskies, only the Siberian’s carry the gene for blue eyes. Mom’s observed me playing with other Huskies, and she says we posses the same almond-shaped, blue eyes, rimmed with black eyeliner.

Siberian Husky

Siberian Husky

I suppose the only way we can really know what “I am” is to get a DNA test. Part of me wants to know, but the other part wants to continue enjoying the mystery (and mom doesn’t want to fork out the money for the test). I don’t really care one way or another. The bottom line is, my human adores me no matter what my DNA says.

Hope you all have a peaceful Sunday evening, and a fabulous week!

xoxo

Woofs and wags,

~ Kona

15 thoughts on “What Kind of Dog is She?

  1. I’m a mystery too! The only thing we’re sure about is schnauzer. Mom and Dad were told Schnoodle by so many people but now that we’re part of the blogging community, we’re noticing I look like a schnauzer/jrt or other terrier mix. Mom REALLY wants to know but she doesn’t want to spend the money.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. That is so interesting and super photos 🙂 I can see all of the breeds you mention in Mr Baloney Head, but like you say, What he is is not as important as Who he is 🙂
    And I had a rescue dog with a magnificent red coat and feathering that I always said was a Nova Scotia Duck Tolling Retriever! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey, Mr. BH. I saw you over at Lexi’s blog and your name drew me here. I love it! Nobody knows what I am either. Mom even suspects I’m part monkey because of my long monkey tail! Don’t take it personally when people think you’re a girl. When I visit the VA in my therapy work WEARING A SUNDRESS WITH 3 ROWS OF RUFFLES, some old soldiers say, “Here, boy. What’s his name?” Gah!

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hehe – maybe my mum should get me a blue outfit that has “I’m a boy” written on it in big letters. I kind of like being a mystery breed, cuz it makes people stop and talk about me – I guess I like being the center of attention. I’m so glad you stopped by to say hi. Have a great day, Cupcake!

      Like

Leave a Reply

